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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
FOR THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS 

 
CBK PROPERTIES II, LLC,  
   
 Plaintiff,  
   
 v.  
   
LA TINAJERA, LLC D/B/A CASA AGAVE 
RESTAURANT,  
   
 Defendant.  
 

 
 
 
 
     Case No. 15-9259-JAR-GLR 

 
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER 

 This matter comes before the Court on Defendant La Tinajera, LLC, d/b/a Casa Agave 

Restaurant’s Motion to Dismiss (Doc. 21).  Plaintiff CBK Properties II, LLC, originally filed this 

action in Wyandotte County, Kansas District Court to recover the premises it leased to 

Defendant, along with past due rent and expenses.  Defendant filed a Notice of Removal in this 

Court (Doc. 1), and Plaintiff responded by filing a Motion to Remand to State Court (Doc. 2).  

On March 21, 2016, the Court entered an order denying Plaintiff’s Motion to Remand (Doc. 17).  

The motion is fully briefed and the Court is prepared to rule.  For the reasons stated below, the 

Court denies Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss. 

I. Discussion 

a. Sufficiency of Notice 

 Defendant seeks dismissal of Count I of the petition on the basis that Plaintiff fails to 

state a claim for relief because Plaintiff did not provide sufficient notice to Defendant as required 

by Kansas law before filing the instant action for eviction.  Defendant argues that such notice 

was a “jurisdictional prerequisite” to this action, and that the Court lacks jurisdiction because 

Plaintiff did not provide proper notice.  In its petition, filed in state court on August 12, 2015, 
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Plaintiff alleged that “La Tinajera has been provided the notice as required by K.S.A. § 61-3803.  

A true and correct copy of the notice is attached hereto as Exhibit B[] and is incorporated herein 

by reference.”1  The notice attached to the petition was dated July 31, 2015, and stated: 

YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED that you are indebted to CBK Properties II, 
LLC in the sum of Fifty Thousand Four Hundred Twenty One and 90/100’s 
Dollars ($50,421.90) for the rent and use of the premises 1340 Village West 
Parkway, Kansas City, Wyandotte County, Kansas now occupied by La Tinajera, 
LLC.  If La Tinajera, LLC does not either pay the above amount in full or vacate 
the premises within 3 days from the date of delivery of this notice, CBK 
Properties II, LLC will begin legal action against La Tinajera, LLC for the past 
due rent and possession of the property.2 

 
Defendant cites K.S.A. §§ 61-3803, 58-2564(b), and 58-25,120(b) for the proposition that 

Plaintiff was required to serve notice on Defendant that it had three days to cure the rent 

deficiency or vacate the premises before Plaintiff filed the instant action.  K.S.A. §§ 58-2564(b) 

and 58-25,120(b) each provide that “the landlord may terminate the rental agreement” if a rental 

payment is unpaid when due and the landlord provides notice to the tenant three days before 

termination indicating the tenant’s nonpayment and the landlord’s intention to terminate the 

agreement.3  K.S.A. § 61-3803 states that  

Before a lawsuit to evict a person pursuant to K.S.A. 61-3801 through 61-3803, 
and amendments thereto, is filed, the party desiring to file such lawsuit shall 
deliver to the other party a notice to leave the premises for which possession is 
sought.  The notice shall be delivered at least three days before commencing the 
lawsuit, by leaving a written copy with the other party or by leaving a copy 
thereof with any person over the age of 12 years residing on the premises 
described in such notice, or if no such person is found upon the premises, by 
posting a copy of such notice in a conspicuous place thereon, or by mailing a copy 
of the notice to the other party at the address of the premises described in the 
notice.4 
 

                                                 
1Doc. 1-1 at 6. 
2Id. at 33, 46. 
3K.S.A. §§ 58-2564(b), 58-25,120(b). 
4K.S.A. § 61-3803. 
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Defendant argues that Plaintiff failed to serve Defendant notice pursuant to these provisions. 

 K.S.A. § 58-2564(b) is part of the Kansas Residential Landlord and Tenant Act 

(“KRLTA”), and applies to rental agreements between “landlords” and “tenants.”5  Under the 

KRLTA, a landlord is defined as “the owner, lessor, or sublessor of the dwelling unit,” and a 

tenant is defined as “a person entitled under a rental agreement to occupy a dwelling unit to the 

exclusion of others.”6  A “dwelling unit” is further defined as “a structure or part of a structure 

that is used as a home, residence or sleeping place by one person who maintains a household or 

by two or more persons who maintain a common household.”7  As these definitions demonstrate, 

the KRLTA applies to residential—rather than commercial—leases.  K.S.A. § 58-25,120(b) is 

encompassed within the Kansas Mobile Home Parks Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, 

which “govern[s] the rental of mobile home space in mobile home parks.”8  Thus, as Plaintiff 

correctly argues, these laws do not apply to the commercial lease at issue in this case. 

 By contrast, K.S.A. § 61-3803 applies broadly to “lawsuits brought to evict a person from 

possession of real property or of an interest in real property.”9  Thus, the Court analyzes the 

sufficiency of the notice at issue under § 61-3803.  Defendant argues that Plaintiff failed to 

provide proper notice to vacate the premises before filing the instant action, but does not provide 

any argument as to how such notice was lacking.  In ruling on Defendant’s motion to dismiss, 

the Court may consider the notice attached to Plaintiff’s petition.10  Based on a review of this 

                                                 
5K.S.A. § 58-2564(b). 
6K.S.A. § 58-2543. 
7Id. (emphasis added). 
8K.S.A. § 58-25,101. 
9K.S.A. § 61-3801. 
10Pace v. Swerdlow, 519 F.3d 1067, 1072 (10th Cir. 2008) (explaining that courts may consider documents 

referred to in a complaint or attached to a complaint in ruling on a motion to dismiss); In re Sprint Corp. Sec. Litig., 
232 F. Supp. 2d 1193, 1210 (D. Kan. 2002). 
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notice, it is clear that Plaintiff provided notice to Defendant to pay the remaining debt in full or 

vacate the premises within three days of receiving the notice.11  This notice was sent to “Mr. Jose 

Pablo Lopez, La Tinajera, LLC, 1340 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, Kansas 66111,” 

which is the “address of the premises described in the notice.”12  Additionally, the notice was 

sent on July 31, 2015, more than twelve days before Plaintiff filed its petition in state court on 

August 12, 2015, and well within the timeframe set out in § 61-3803.13  The Court cannot find 

that notice was lacking under § 61-3803.  Therefore, the Court denies Defendant’s motion to 

dismiss Count I. 

b. Attorney’s Fees 

Count II of the petition seeks attorney’s fees pursuant to Section 9.5 of the Lease.  

Defendant seeks dismissal of this Count based on the application of K.S.A. § 58-2547, which 

provides that “No rental agreement may provide that the tenant or landlord: . . . agrees to pay 

either party’s attorneys’ fees.”14  K.S.A. § 58-2547 is encompassed within the KRLTA, which 

the Court has previously found does not apply to this case.  Further, the Kansas Court of Appeals 

has held that “an agreement included in a commercial lease for recovery of reasonable attorney 

fees is valid and enforceable in Kansas, in the absence of any statutory prohibition against such a 

provision.”15  Because § 58-2547 does not apply, there is no statutory prohibition against the 

attorney’s fee provision in the Lease.  Therefore, the Court denies Defendant’s motion to dismiss 

Count II. 

                                                 
11Doc. 1-1 at 33, 46. 
12Id. at 33, 46–47. 
13See id. at 5 (reflecting petition filing date of August 12, 2015). 
14K.S.A. § 58-2547. 
15Oak Park. Inv. Co. v. Lundy’s, Inc., 626 P.2d 1236, 1238 (Kan. Ct. App. 1981). 
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IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED BY THE COURT that Defendant’s Motion to 

dismiss is denied. 

 IT IS SO ORDERED. 
 
Dated: May 3, 2016 
        S/ Julie A. Robinson                             

JULIE A. ROBINSON     
       UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE 
 
 
 


