
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )
)

Plaintiff, ) CRIMINAL ACTION
)

v. ) No. 11-10182-MLB
)

FELIPE MALDONADO-GUIZAR, )
)

Defendant. )
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

This case comes before the court on defendant’s motion to

withdraw his plea of guilty and dismiss the indictment.  (Doc. 14). 

The motion has been fully briefed.  (Docs. 16, 18).  Defendant’s

motion is denied for the reasons herein.

I. Facts and Procedural History

On March 2, 2010, defendant was charged in a two-count Felony

Complaint with carrying a concealed dirk/dagger in violation of

California Penal Code, Section 12020(a)(4) along with a Penal Code,

Section 186.22(b)(1) allegation of doing so to promote a street gang.

Defendant was also charged with participating in and promoting a

criminal street gang under Penal Section 186.22(a), which was

ultimately reduced to a misdemeanor.  

Defendant was sentenced to 36 months of probation, which

included a 300 day term in the county jail.  On September 14, 2011,

defendant was charged in this district with being a felon in

possession of a firearm on May 2, 2011.  Defendant pled guilty to this

charge on January 9, 2012.  Defendant now moves to withdraw his plea

and seeks dismissal of the indictment on the basis that his prior



conviction for carrying a concealed dirk/dagger is a misdemeanor under

California law.  

II. Analysis

Under California law, “[a] felony is a crime which is punishable

with death or by imprisonment in the state prison” and “[e]very other

crime or public offense is a misdemeanor except those offenses that

are classified as infractions.” Cal. Penal Code § 17(a). Section

17(b)(1) of the California Penal Code deals with these so-called

“wobbler” offenses that may be punished either as a felony or a

misdemeanor.  See, generally, Ewing v. California, 538 U.S. 11, 16,

123 S. Ct. 1179 (2003)(discussing offenses that may be classified

either as felonies or misdemeanors under California law); Garcia–Lopez

v. Ashcroft, 334 F.3d 840, 844 (9th Cir. 2003) (discussing the

California “wobbler” statute).  Section 12020(a)(4), carrying a

concealed dirk/dagger, is a “wobbler” statute under California law.

Defendant relies on section 17(b)(1) of the California Penal Code

and asserts that his prior conviction is a misdemeanor because he was

sentenced to the county jail and not state imprisonment.  Pursuant to

section 17(b)(1), “[w]hen a crime is punishable, in the discretion of

the court, by imprisonment in the state prison or by fine or

imprisonment in the county jail, it is a misdemeanor for all purposes

... [a]fter a judgment imposing a punishment other than imprisonment

in the state prison.”  Defendant contends that a judgment was imposed

in his case because the sentencing minute order states that there is

“no legal cause why Judgment should not now be pronounced.”  (Doc. 18,

exh. B).  

Defendant, however, is mistaken.  “[N]either a grant of
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probation, nor a suspension of the imposition of sentence, is a

judgment imposing a punishment of imprisonment for a term not

exceeding one year.  In either case, no judgment is actually rendered;

only if the state court were to impose sentence and then order its

execution stayed would there be a judgment.”  United States v.

Bridgeforth, 441 F.3d 864, 871 (9th Cir. 2006); see also United States

v. Hernandez-Castillo, 449 F.3d 1127, 1130 (10th Cir 2006)(“neither

probation nor a suspended sentence is deemed to be a judgment imposing

punishment under California law.”); see also People v. Smith, 195 Cal.

App.2d 735, 737-738 (1961) (“An order granting probation is not a

judgment.”)  The sentencing minute order clearly grants probation, see

Doc. 18, exh. B at 2, and is therefore not a judgment for the purposes

of section 17(b)(1).  See Hernandez-Castillo, 449 F.3d at 1130-31.

Alternatively, section 17(b)(3) states that a “wobbler” offense

“is a misdemeanor for all purposes . . . [w]hen the court grants

probation to a defendant without imposition of sentence and at the

time of granting probation, or on application . . . thereafter, the

court declares the offense to be a misdemeanor.”  There is no evidence

to support a finding in this case that the court declared the offense

to be a misdemeanor.  The complaint against defendant was a felony

complaint.  (Doc. 16, exh. 1).  The plea documentation shows that

defendant was pleading guilty to a felony charge on count one and

clarifies that defendant was pleading guilty to a misdemeanor pursuant

to section 17(b) in count 2.  (Doc. 16, exh. 2).  Therefore, without

a declaration from the sentencing judge that defendant’s dirk/dagger

charge was a misdemeanor, the prior conviction is a felony under

California law.  See Hernandez-Castillo, 449 F.3d at 1131; United
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States v. Soto-Lara, No. 11-10116, 2012 WL 823636, *2 (9th Cir. Mar.

13, 2012) (“When there is no evidence in the record to show that the

court declared the offense to be a misdemeanor, § 17(b)(3) does not

operate to turn a wobbler offense into a misdemeanor.”) 

III. Conclusion

Defendant’s motion to withdraw his guilty plea and dismiss the

indictment is denied.  (Doc. 14).  Sentencing will be held on April

30, 2012 at 2:30 p.m.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated this   20th   day of April 2012, at Wichita, Kansas.

s/ Monti Belot    
Monti L. Belot
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

-4-


